How to Recover Unpaid Wages in California
Wage theft is one the most common forms of theft in the United States, with employers cheating billions of dollars from hardworking people every year. To make matters worse, wage theft might not look like what you expect. In fact, it can take many forms other than just skimming money off your paycheck. You deserve to be paid what you’re owed money under the law for the work that you perform. Employee protection laws give workers the right to recover the unpaid wages that they rightfully earned. And if you're a California employee, you enjoy some of the most protective laws in the country. What Are Your California Employee Wage and Hour Rights? To qualify for wage protection laws, you must be classified as a “non-exempt employee.” Compared to independent contractors, employees get far more rights under the law. You qualify as a non-exempt employee in California if you: Work primarily under the control and direction of your employer, The work you perform is within your employer's usual course of business, and You don't otherwise operate an independent trade or business based on the type of work you do for your employer. For all qualifying California employees, your employer is required by law to: Provide a 30-minute unpaid meal break to be taken during every shift over 5 hours, plus another 30-minute unpaid meal break if your shift goes over 10 hours Allow sick pay and family and medical leave as required under state and federal law Pay you the required minimum wage (including salaried workers), prevailing wage, overtime, and double-time under the law Reimburse you for expenses such as gas mileage and your work cell phone plan Pay you on time – at least once every 15 days on a regular basis, immediately if you get fired, and within 72 hours if you quit Provide unemployment benefits if you’re let go from your position Subsidize your health insurance, social security taxes, and Medicare taxes You may have more protections and rights depending on the industry you’re in, as California has specific labor laws focused on the computer, entertainment, garment, and restaurant industries. What Are the Common Forms of Wage Theft in California? One of the most common types of wage theft happens through employee misclassification when employers misclassify employees as “exempt” or independent contractors. Unlike employees, independent contractors don't get the same rights and protections. Some businesses try to cut corners by misclassifying employees to save money, cheating workers out of the wages they’ve earned fairly under the law. Other than misclassification, wage theft can also look like: Failing to pay workers the required minimum or prevailing wage, their earned commissions or bonuses, or hazard pay even if it’s in their contract Failing to update wages after new laws come into effect or the minimum wage is raised Press employees to work off the clock without paying them the overtime rate Making employees work through their legally protected breaks Refusing to pay employees for vacation time they don’t use Failing to cover the required social security and medicare taxes on your paycheck Illegally deducting money from your paycheck for any reason Regularly failing to pay employees their wages on time Failing to reimburse employees for their work-related expenses If you’re experiencing wage theft you may be intimidated by the idea of bringing it up with your employer, especially if you fear that they will retaliate against you. However, California employee protections are robust – and retaliation is illegal. Also, if you’re experiencing wage theft by an employer, you may not be the only one. A company's illegal wage practices could affect many of its employees across the board. If so, you may have a class action case against your employer for all of your stolen wages. How Do You Fight Wage Theft and Recover Your Unpaid Wages? If your employer fails to pay you the wages you’ve earned under the law, you can file a claim with either the California Labor Commission or another relevant state or federal agency. You can also file a wage and hour lawsuit or class action against your employer. State and federal agencies have procedures in place to get you paid the wages you are owed under the law. If those procedures fail, a wage theft lawsuit may be your best option. When you file a civil lawsuit or class action against a company for wage and hour violations, the law works to “make you whole” – i.e., provide you with monetary damages to compensate you for your losses. Many wage and hour lawsuits end in settlements where the employer agrees to pay their employees the true wages they’re owed. In a large class action case, this could be millions of dollars being paid out by the company. If your employer takes negative action against you for filing a legitimate wage complaint, they can be held accountable under the law for even greater damages. In a case of retaliation, a court may order punitive damages from your employer. These damages are meant to punish companies for especially bad, intentional, or malicious behavior. Depending on the scope and severity of the violations, punitive damages can result in huge settlements or verdicts. How a California Employment Lawyer Can Help Whatever course of action you end up taking, an experienced and knowledgeable employment lawyer can help you navigate the process of filing your wage claim or class action lawsuit. If you've been cheated out of your wages, you deserve to be compensated for the labor you’ve completed. But you're just one employee against a company that might have much greater resources than you. That's where your attorney comes in to help level the playing field. The passionate and experienced legal team at the Wilshire Law Firm has fought for employees’ rights for years. We don’t back down from a challenge and we know California's labor laws inside and out. Plus, we work on a contingency-fee basis – that means you only pay us after we’ve recovered your wages for you. To find out how we can assist you with your claim, call us now at (800) 522-7274 or fill out our online form for a free consultation.
How Hours of Service Violations Cause Dangerous Truck Accidents
The trucks and 18-wheelers you see on the street every day can weigh as much as 80,000 lbs. fully loaded – the weight of more than 5 elephants. That's a lot of mass to haul around, especially with smaller vehicles sharing the road. To cut down on truck accidents caused by driver error, the U.S. Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has strict rules on how long truck drivers can work in a given day. But hard deadlines, narrow profit margins, and performance bonuses often cause truck drivers to break these rules to meet company goals – with catastrophic consequences. When truck drivers work more hours than they're allowed, they can lose their concentration or even fall asleep at the wheel. These dangerous conditions can lead to devastating truck crashes that put innocent drivers at grave risk. Of the 4,119 people who died in truck crashes in 2019, only 16% were truck drivers. In fact, 67% of the fatalities from truck accidents were people in cars and other passenger vehicles. The remaining 15% were pedestrians, cyclists, and motorcycle riders. If you’ve been injured or you’ve lost a loved one in a trucking accident caused by hours of service violations, you could have a legal action against the truck driver and their company. A truck accident lawsuit can help you recover damages to compensate you for your medical expenses, lost wages, and the pain you’ve suffered as a result of the crash. You may even have a claim for wrongful death if a family member passed away because of the accident. What Are the Trucking Hours of Service Rules? Truck drivers and trucking companies must follow all federal, state, and local laws and regulations where they operate. If a trucking company transports goods across state lines, its drivers must operate under the following FMCSA hours of service rules: Drivers must not drive more than 11 hours in a 14-hour shift. Each 14-hour work period allows drivers breaks for naps, eating, or using the restroom. A driver’s 14-hour workday begins after they have been off duty for 10 consecutive hours. Drivers must take a 30-minute break if they have been operating for 8 hours straight. Drivers can only work 60 hours over 7 consecutive days or 70 hours over 8 days. Drivers can reset their 7/8-day working period by taking off 34 consecutive hours. These rules ensure that truck drivers are well-rested enough to properly operate their rigs. But some trucking companies still push their drivers past the limits. A trucking company may break nationwide hours of service rules by: Setting ambitious schedules for drivers so they speed or make up the extra miles by unofficially driving past their hours of service Giving drivers bonuses based on unrealistic driving goals, incentivizing them to work past their hours even if that means lying on their logs Paying drivers by the load so that they want to deliver as many loads as possible, causing them to work off the clock and leave it off their logs Having policies that favor drivers who regularly bend the rules over others who don’t Threatening retaliation against drivers who refuse to go over their allowed schedule Research has shown that tired or drowsy driving has effects similar to drunk driving, including: Trouble staying focused, keeping your eyes open, or holding up your head Disconnected thoughts that wander away from the road Tailgating, swerving, or drifting across lanes Sudden jerking movements of the steering wheel Uneven driving speed and slowed reaction times Passing exits, running stoplights, and failing to use turn signals Memory loss and inability to remember areas you just passed These symptoms are bad enough for any driver but especially for truck drivers carrying massive or oversize cargo loads. An 18-wheeler or big rig only worsens the dangers in these conditions. How Can You Prove an Hour of Service Violation? In addition to rules around driving, the FMCSA also requires truck drivers and trucking companies to keep detailed logs of their operations. If you suspect your trucking accident had to do with driver fatigue, you can find evidence to back up your claim in these records. However, finding proof isn’t always easy. Trucking operators know that breaking the rules will get them fined under the law so they might falsify logs or records. This is where a knowledgeable truck accident lawyer comes in. Your attorney can help find the proof you need to back up your claims and establish that an hour of service violation caused the crash. Evidence could include: Driver logbooks – Truck drivers must keep detailed logs of their trips and deliveries. However, these records are easy to doctor and fake to look legitimate. You may have to dig deeper to establish inaccuracies in the logs. Electronic records – Truck cabs usually have electronic logging devices similar to airplane “black boxes.” These logs are much harder to fake. Cellular data – Cell phone records like calls, texts, emails, GPS, and internet activity can show a driver's actual behavior during the time they were supposed to be resting or driving without distraction. GPS systems – Trucking companies track their trucks with GPS systems like Qualcomm, which can show speed and location. Receipts and bills of lading – Gas station receipts, food and drink transactions, weigh station records, toll booth tickets, and bills of lading on shipment delivery can all help pinpoint a driver’s exact location at a certain time to compare it to the logbooks. Maintenance records and inspections – These records can be compared to the driver logbook for accuracy and to find any inconsistencies in the logs. If you can prove that your accident was caused by a violation of hour and service rules, the responsibility for the crash will fall on the trucking company for their dangerous actions. How Do You Recover Damages for Injuries After a Truck Crash? A personal injury lawsuit helps compensate you for the pain and injuries you’ve suffered after your truck accident. While your crash cannot be undone, a legal action can help you get the medical treatment you need to get better after your accident. If you’re unable to work because of your crash, damages from a personal injury lawsuit can help cover your lost wages. Call our nationally recognized truck accident lawyers for help pursuing the full compensation you deserve. We have handled truck accident cases from all over the U.S., and we are knowledgeable of both state and federal laws that regulate the trucking industry. We work on a contingency-fee basis, which means you don’t pay us unless you win your case. Call us today (800) 522-7274 or make an online request for a free consultation.
12 Most Important Bike Laws that Protect Cyclists in California
More and more people are switching to commute by bicycle for the health, environmental, and cost-saving benefits. California’s roads have become increasingly cyclist-friendly with projects like Vision Zero in Los Angeles and the San Francisco Bicycle Coalition paving the way for fewer traffic accidents and deaths. Even with all these efforts, the years between 2016 and 2018 proved to have the highest bicycling death rate since the mid-2000s with 2,516 California cyclists dying in traffic accidents, according to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Simply put, the more riders that are out there, the higher the chance of a bicycle accident occuring. But following the California bike laws below can help lower your risk. Generally, cyclists in California have the same responsibilities and must adhere to the same traffic laws as other cars and vehicles – such as yielding to pedestrians and respecting traffic signs and lights. The state’s bicycle laws can help save your life. 1. Bicyclists Must Ride in the Same Direction as Traffic If you’re riding your bike on the road, you must travel in the same direction as traffic. If you’re going in the opposite direction on a one-way street, you should walk your bike on the sidewalk. There are no universal statewide rules in California that block cyclists from riding their bikes on the sidewalk. However, your local or city government may restrict how and when you can actually ride your bicycle on the sidewalk, as this can put pedestrians at risk. For example, Los Angeles allows biking on sidewalks as long as you’re not riding dangerously. However, in Santa Monica, it’s illegal to bike on the sidewalk. Violations can result in a misdemeanor with the possibility of a fine or even jail time. 2. Bicyclists Moving Slower Than Traffic Must Use Bike Lanes Where you ride on the road depends on your speed compared to vehicle traffic. If you’re riding slower than traffic on a road with a dedicated bike lane available, you must ride in the bike lane. If there is no bike lane available, you must ride as close as feasible to the right side of the road or curb. After checking for safety and giving a proper signal, you're allowed to leave the bike lane and take up the entire traffic lane when: Passing other cyclists, cars, or pedestrians who are in the bike lane, Preparing to make a right or left turn at an intersection or driveway, or It’s “reasonably necessary” to avoid debris or hazardous conditions. 3. Bicyclists Moving with Traffic May “Take the Lane” You’re allowed to ride in the lane with traffic if you’re going the same speed as other vehicles. You can also “take the lane” to pass other cyclists, prepare for a left turn, or to avoid unsafe conditions along the right-hand side of the road. 4. You or Your Bike Must Be Visible at Night Cycling at night could be extremely dangerous if drivers can't see you clearly in time to avoid a collision. That's why California state law requires cyclists to have: A white light either on you or the bike visible from 300 feet ahead, A red reflector with or without a red light visible from 500 feet behind, A white or yellow reflector on each pedal visible from 200 feet ahead and behind, and A white or yellow reflector on each side of the front half of your bicycle and a white or red reflector on each side of the back half of your bicycle, unless your tires are reflective. 5. You Must Have One Ear Uncovered While Riding on the Road As a cyclist, you cannot wear headsets or earplugs that cover both ears unless you’re engaged in highway operations or the device is a hearing aid. 6. Wear a Helmet (Required if Under 18) You must wear a helmet while biking in California if you’re under 18 years old. This is not a requirement for adults – however, you should always wear a helmet for your safety. 7. Your Bike Must Have Properly Working Brakes This rule might seem obvious, but your bicycle must have proper brakes that allow you to skid to a stop on a single wheel on dry pavement. 8. Your Bike Cannot Be Too Tall You must be able to start, stop, and support your bicycle in an upright position with at least a single foot on the ground. Your handlebars must not reach above your shoulders. 9. Bicyclists May Not Stop on Crosswalks Crosswalks are for the safety of pedestrians, who have the right-of-way. As a cyclist, you should stop behind crosswalks whenever you're waiting at an intersection so you don't block pedestrians’ right-of-way and you’re less likely to be in the way of a car turning right. 10. Vehicles Must Give Cyclists 3 Ft. of “Buffer” California’s Three Feet for Safety Act requires all drivers to give bicyclists at least 3 ft. of space when passing them in traffic. If a driver is unable to maintain that buffer, they must slow down and only pass when doing so would not put the cyclist in danger. 11. DUIs Apply to Cyclists, Too! As a cyclist, you are exposed on the road. It's important to be alert and aware of your surroundings at all times. Not only is it dangerous to ride a bike on roadways under the influence of drugs or alcohol, but it’s also against the law – just like vehicular DUI. 12. Hit-and-Run Is a Crime If a driver collides with your bike and flees the scene of the accident, the crash becomes an illegal hit-and-run. Unfortunately, hit-and-runs are a real problem with cyclist and pedestrian accidents – perhaps the driver feels they have a better chance of getting away. However, there are a number of ways to track down hit-and-run drivers even without getting their license plate numbers, such as witness testimony or nearby security camera footage. While these laws help protect cyclists, unfortunately for California’s roadways, biking accidents are still too common – and too fatal. If you've been injured in a crash or if your loved one has died in a bicycle accident, call our passionate California accident attorneys today at (800) 522-7274 or fill out our online form for a free consultation.
How to Get Your Car Fixed After an Accident in California
If you were in a car accident or another type of motor vehicle accident, you may be left with not only injuries but also damage to your vehicle that is costly to repair. If you were not at fault for the crash, then it should NOT be your responsibility to pay for the damages. Legally, the person who caused the crash is liable to cover these expenses. But did you know that when you hire a lawyer for your car accident, most law firms will only handle your medical damages, not your property damages? That leaves you to deal with fixing or replacing your car – and finding a ride while you wait. If you’ve suffered a car crash, you’re already dealing with so much. You don’t need the added stress of wrangling with the insurance company over the worth of your car. We know this, which is why our experienced legal team is dedicated to handling every aspect of your case, including the damages to your vehicle or other property. If you’re hurt in a car accident, you can include the cost of repairing or replacing your car in your personal injury claim or lawsuit. In California, whoever is “at fault” for causing your injury is also responsible for paying the damages to your vehicle. The steps you take immediately after a car crash are critical to proving fault and damages in your case. You’ll need to provide documentation to establish the facts around your accident. With the right approach, you can file a claim to get the maximum payout for your car, even if you’re upside down on your loan. What to Do After a Car Accident in California California is an at-fault state, which means the amount of compensation you recover is based on the percentage of fault. You must be able to show actual evidence that proves: Another driver is responsible (or “at fault”) for your car accident, and The accident actually caused your injuries or made an existing condition worse. Facts are best gathered fresh before the accident scene changes and eyewitness memories get muddled. As soon as possible after your California car accident, you should: Get contact and insurance information from all other drivers involved in the accident. Take photos and videos of the scene of the crash and any damage to your car. Record eyewitness testimony at the scene and get witness contact information. File a police report either at the scene or shortly after at the police station. Get medical treatment immediately after the accident. Hire a lawyer to notify your insurance companies and file a claim. If you’re injured in a car accident, it’s best to contact a personal injury lawyer so that they can handle all the communication with the insurance companies on your behalf. Dealing with Insurance Companies After a Car Crash Your car’s property damage could be covered by: Liability coverage under the at-fault driver’s insurance Collision or comprehensive coverage under your own insurance (you may be responsible for paying your auto policy’s deductible) Uninsured motorist coverage under your own insurance Damages in a personal injury lawsuit related to the accident Once you file a claim with your insurance company or another driver’s insurance company, they will assess and set a value for the property damage you’ve suffered. It’s best to verify this amount with an independent party because insurance companies commonly undervalue damage to protect their profits. If your insurance company doesn’t pay for repairs directly, make sure to keep all your repair and rental receipts so that you can get reimbursed for those expenses. Insurance companies often lowball settlement offers shortly after traffic accidents, hoping you’ll accept a quick payout for much less than you’re actually owed. You should always talk to a lawyer before accepting a settlement offer to make sure you’re protecting your rights. Once you accept a settlement offer, you lose the ability to sue over the accident. At Wilshire Law Firm, our car accident lawyers gather evidence to negotiate the maximum settlement offer for the losses you’ve suffered. That includes any out-of-pocket cost you’ve had to pay to get back on the road while your car is being fixed, such as car rental payments. What If Your Car Is Totaled But You Have Payments Left? Insurance companies determine the fair market value of a car not from the Kelly Blue Book but by searching for similar vehicles being sold in your area. This is the “actual cash value” (ACV) of your car, usually set by an insurance adjuster. Because cars depreciate in value so fast, you may owe more on your auto loan than your car is worth – especially in the first few years of ownership. What happens if you get into an accident during this time and you severely damage or total your car? What Is Gap Insurance and What Does It Cover? Gap insurance covers the difference between your car’s current value and the amount you owe on the loan. You can get gap insurance through your car dealer or auto insurance policy. If you don’t have gap insurance and you’re upside-down on your car loan, you may have to pay the loan amount above the ACV of your car. To avoid getting stuck with this bill, you should make sure the ACV determined by your insurance company is correct. The property damage team at Wilshire Law Firm is experienced in calculating an accurate ACV of your car, using multiple resources to make sure the price is correct. Sometimes, readjusting the ACV of your car could increase your settlement amount by thousands of dollars. How a Personal Injury Lawyer Can Help When you hire a lawyer for your car accident, you level the playing field against insurance companies that have endless resources to fight your claim. A good personal injury lawyer can help you get compensation for the injuries you’ve suffered in your car accident. They can also help you understand your rights and establish the proper value of your car instead of falling prey to insurance companies who try to undercut you. At Wilshire Law Firm, we have an entire property damage department ready to handle whatever you need to get you back on the road. We are passionate about getting the maximum compensation possible for our clients – that includes the value of your car. Our client-focused approach means putting your needs first. Our team is available 24 hours a day ready to come to you if you’re unable to get transportation. Call our California car accident lawyers now for your FREE consultation at (800) 522-7274.
Wrongfully Terminated in California After Complaining About COVID Safety Issues? Read This.
The coronavirus pandemic has forced employers to rethink workplace safety for their workers. Unfortunately, not every company has properly implemented these safety protocols to keep their employees protected. It’s important to KNOW YOUR RIGHTS as an employee during these times. It’s against the law for your employer to terminate or penalize you for: Filing a complaint against the company you work for. Refusing to work without proper personal protective equipment (PPE). Taking time off to recover from COVID-19 or to care for a loved one in your household who has the virus (in most cases). Additionally, California employees now have even greater protections thanks to new laws that were passed this year. (Scroll down to the next section for the details.) If you believe you were fired for one or more of the reasons listed above, or you felt you had to quit due to your employer’s failure to create a safe work environment during the pandemic, you should take legal action. You could be entitled to compensation, and it’s your right to seek the financial recovery you deserve. Click here to learn about how our attorneys at Wilshire Law Firm can assist you. It’s also helpful to brush up on the latest COVID-related protections for employees in California... Additional Employee Protections: New California Laws for 2021 The California Legislature introduced the following brand-new laws in 2021 to expand protection for employees affected by COVID. Here’s a recap: Paid family leave available for more employees As of Jan. 1, workers of companies in California with five or more employees are now allowed to take up to 12 weeks of leave to take care of sick family members, with the assurance that they will not lose their jobs. Previously, this right was only extended to employees for companies with 50 or more employees. Under the new law, a “family member” can include siblings, grandparents, grandchildren, and in-laws, in addition to spouses and children. Employers required to notify employees about possible exposure New legislation requires businesses to inform employees within one business day upon learning about any potential COVID-19 exposure in the workplace. With that notification, they must also provide employees with information about the company’s safety measures for combating the virus, information about workers’ compensation and sick leave, and protection from retaliation. The employer is additionally required to notify local public health officials if the company experiences a COVID-19 outbreak, which is defined as three lab-confirmed cases in the workplace within a span of two weeks. Expanded workers’ compensation eligibility for employees who get COVID Before 2021, it was next to impossible for employees to qualify for workers’ compensation on the basis COVID-19, due to the fact that it’s difficult to prove where the virus is contracted. In May 2020, California Governor Gavin Newsom put the burden of proof on the employer for frontline workers. Under the governor’s order, frontline workers who came down with COVID-19 from March through July were presumed to have contracted the virus from work unless the employer was able to prove otherwise. This made them eligible for workers’ compensation. A new California law in 2021 extends the timeline beyond July for healthcare workers and first responders, and it also applies the “disputable presumption” (the presumption that the virus was contracted at work) to all types of workers at businesses with five employees or more. However, the presumption only applies to those who were working during the time of an outbreak at the job site. (The outbreak must meet certain qualifying standards as set forth by the law.) In short, it’s now a lot easier for all types of workers to qualify for workers’ compensation for COVID-related illness. What to Do If You Your Rights Were Violated Don’t let your former employer get away with illegal activity. Whether the violations occurred in 2020 or 2021, our employment law attorneys and class action lawyers at Wilshire Law Firm are here to help. Click here to learn more about how our team can assist you. We offer FREE, no-obligation consultations!
Post Collision Fuel-Fed Fires and Burn Injuries
PCFFF (post collision fuel-fed fire) is a common acronym used within the personal injury law community. It stands for “post collision fuel-fed fire.” The US Fire Administration cites post collision fuel-fed fires as the number one cause of car deaths. Car fires can happen for a multitude of reasons, ranging from manufacturing defects like the improper placement of a fuel tank to problems with transmission fluids. The majority of car fires are not fatal – unless there is a burn injury involved. Since most fire injuries occur because of manufacturing issues and are not the victim’s fault, personal injury victims are entitled to hold the manufacturers of motor vehicles accountable. Wilshire Law Firm can get you the financial compensation you deserve! How Common Are Car Accident Fires? Car accident fires are relatively rare. However, the impact of severe burns to an injury victim can be scarring in more ways than one. Those with medical bills from any smoke inhalation that occurred, chemical burns, or any other injuries from their accident may be entitled to compensation for the damages they have suffered. According to the U.S. Fire Administration, there were a total of 212,500 vehicle fires in 2019. Of those 212,500 vehicle fires, 49% were caused by mechanical malfunctions! Only a small 3% were caused by the crash itself. That is why it is so important to recognize and be aware of the potential causes of a car fire accident – to prevent injuries and fatalities. Causes of Car Crash Fires Several components can lead to a car fire accident, and it is incredibly important that drivers are aware of these factors so that they can do their part in preventing a car accident fire. Very rarely is the cause of the fire the actual crash! The top four causes of car accident fires are: Mechanical Malfunctions Spilled Fluids Electrical Failures Car Crash or Rollover Accident Levels of Burn Injuries A burn is medically defined as damage to the skin caused by extreme heat, flame, contact with chemicals, or hot surfaces. There are several “levels” of serious burn injury, categorized from least severe to most severe. First degree burns These affect the epidermis (the outer layer of the skin). The burn site is colored red and may be painful and blistered. There is a very small likelihood of any long-term damage. These types of burns can usually be treated with easy over-the-counter healing treatment. Second degree burns (“partial thickness burns”) This occurs when the burn affects both the epidermis and the lower layer of skin, the dermis. The burn is generally extremely painful, blistered, and has white and red splotches. Third degree burns (“full-thickness burns”) A burn is considered to be a third degree burn when it not only completely burns the epidermis and dermis, but also burns the innermost layer of skin. This type of burn is considered to be very severe and the burn site is likely to appear blackened or completely white and may result in permanent scarring. Fourth degree burns This is considered the most dangerous level of a severe burn. This type of burn means every single layer of skin is damaged, as well as the bones and muscles underneath. Due to severe nerve damage, there is likely to be almost no pain associated with the immediate aftermath of this burn. You would likely need to get some form of skin graft if you experienced this level of burn. Burn injuries that lead to personal injury lawsuits often result in scarring and/or disfigurement to the burn victim. This type of injury is far from being just a simple surface wound and can even permanently change a victim’s life. Can I File a Fire Injury Lawsuit? Yes. If you believe that your burn injury is even partially due to another party’s negligence, you may be entitled to compensation. Depending on the degree of injury suffered by the affected party and the cost of future medical treatment, the value of each case may fluctuate. To determine the value of your personal injury case, we will need to examine the extent of injuries received, as well as future medical expenses. Most law firms do not have the extensive experience and knowledge necessary to get you the compensation you deserve and maximize the value of your claim. With special legal cases like car accident burn injuries, you need an injury lawyer you can trust. Contact Wilshire Law Firm immediately for an absolutely free case evaluation with no obligation. We will give you our opinion as to the value and liability. Who is Held Accountable? Identifying defendants in a burn injury compensation lawsuit might not be obvious. Your injury lawyer can review your case and determine who should be held at fault or otherwise be found negligent for your injuries. In most cases, there can be both direct and indirect liability in your case. There are likely multiple separate defendants in your case; ranging from property owners to the electrical company. That is exactly why it is so essential to talk to an injury lawyer as soon as possible after experiencing a serious injury in a burn accident. Consulting an Attorney If you are an accident victim, you have the right to seek complete justice for the pain and suffering you have experienced. It is important that you take action right away if you believe that you may be entitled to financial compensation. In California, the statute of limitations gives an individual with a personal injury case two years from the date of the injury to go to court and file a lawsuit. Don’t wait; call Wilshire Law Firm today! Our trial attorneys are known for their fearless advocacy and willingness to fight for our clients and their unique situations. We have a reputation for obtaining maximum value for our personal injury lawsuits and making sure that our clients get the justice they deserve. Wilshire Law Firm is a premier personal injury law firm with extensive experience fighting big manufacturing and insurance companies to get our clients the maximum compensation for their car fire injury. Our law firm will hold people and institutions accountable for the injuries they have caused. We can all help make our communities safer when we pursue the justice we deserve. Contact one of our personal injury attorneys today for a FREE case consultation! Call +1-800-522-7274.